Virtus Thesis Award for Nobility Studies

Virtus Thesis Award

Every two years, the Society for Nobility Studies presents the Virtus Thesis Award for Nobility Studies for the best (Research) Master’s thesis that is substantially devoted to (an aspect of) nobility studies. Eligible are (research) master’s theses in completion of an academic programme in history or another relevant discipline at a Dutch or Belgian university. The thesis must be written in Dutch, English, French or German.19488934 683209405205290 8628339746014978487 o

In addition to the award, the winning student receives the sum of €500,- and is given the opportunity to rework the thesis into an article that will be published in Virtus, Journal of Nobility Studies, pending the judgement of the editors and two external referees. 

All submitted theses will be reviewed by a jury appointed by the Society for Nobility Studies. This year, the jury consists of the following people:

  • Prof. dr. Maarten Prak (chair)
  • Prof. dr. Hans Cools
  • Dr. Conrad Gietman
  • Dr. Elyze Storms-Smeets

If none of the submitted theses meet the jury's requirements, the jury reserves the right not to present a thesis award.


Winner 2018

The Virtus Thesis Award for Nobility Studies 2018 is awarded to Joris van Son for his thesis Studying Music at Home: Eighteenth-Century Dutch Domestic Music-Making (Research Master Musicology, Utrecht University), supervised by dr. Rebekah Ahrendt. The Virtus thesis Award 2018 will be awarded in Utrecht during a mini symposium with lectures from Maarten Prak, Hans Cools, Conrad Gietman, Elyze Storms-Smeets, and of course the winner himself. The programme (in Dutch) is available here


Previous winners

19467768 683209401871957 4265002145418843476 oThe Virtus Thesis Award for Nobility Studies 2016 was presented to Gerrit van Oosterom for his Dutch thesis Gronden van vermaak. Een reconstructie van de ontwikkeling van de buitenplaatscultuur en het buitenplaatslandschap langs de Oude Rijn tussen Leiden en Utrecht (1600-1900) (University of Groningen), supervised by prof. dr. Yme Kuiper. The jury was formed by prof. dr. Willem Frijhoff (chair), dr. Conrad Gietman, dr. Sophie Reinders and dr. Elyze Storms-Smeets. 

Stichting Werkgroep Adelsgeschiedenis

Postadres: p/a Historisch Centrum Overijssel - Eikenstraat 20 - 8021 WX Zwolle -

Select language